Paying It Forward

Paying It Forward.

LiebsterAward_3lilapples

I just received my first Liebster Award from a fellow blogger. I googled Liebster to find out what it is.

Apparently, it is a way for bloggers to recognize each other. It is a “pay it forward,” a way to promote each others’ blogs. There are no judges or prizes. Just a pat on the back for a blog well done (although that may be a stretch, but since there are no judges, who’s to say?) It is also a way to get to know other bloggers and build a network or following.

Once you receive the Liebster (which is German for “dearest”) you are to select 10 blogs with under 200 followers. These bloggers receive the Liebster award from you. One google link describes this as being similar a chain letter. Others disagree because of the negative connotation of the comparison. There are no threats involved–no promises of wealth or threats of losing cash if you don’t continue the Liebster string. It is simply a way to connect with fellow travelers in the blogosphere. One of the “rules” or suggestions is to ask 10 questions of 10 bloggers. Here are the questions I was asked along with my responses:

Q#1: Who or what has been the biggest inspiration in your creative realm?
It is difficult to pinpoint a specific “biggest inspiration” for my writing. I would start with my grandmother who was a wonderful storyteller.
Grammy Grady peeling apples
Add the life experiences and my curious nature. I enjoy people of all sorts and find my fellow humans to be very interesting. My job inspires me–I see people overcome incredible odds as they struggle to return some sort of normalcy to their lives. My family offers generous portions of humor to draw from. My writers’ group of six women inspire me to improve my skills and to open my creative head and heart.

Q#2: What was the first classic you ever recall reading?
Treasure Island by RL Stevenson. I still enjoy that book.

Q#3: What kind of films do you prefer?
Comedies with a good plot–not the senseless “body humor” ones. One of my favorites is “The Big Chill.”

Q#4: Who’s your favorite superhero?
It’s gotta be Batman. I am the mother of three sons and have dressed up as “Bat Mom” at least twice for Halloween. I wear Bat Mom winged glasses, bat earrings, a Batman t-shirt, a black skirt covered by an bat-print apron, a bat cape or shawl and, of course, I carry a big black purse with the Bat signal on it.

Q#5: Who’s your favorite villain (come on, we all have at least one…)
Probably Moriarity, Sherlock Holmes’s archenemy.

Q#6: If you could delegate one of your least favorite responsibilities, what would it be?
Balancing the checkbook.

Q#7: If you could change the flavor of any food or drink, which one would it be and why?
I would change asparagus to chocolate while keeping the nutritional value. I have never liked asparagus. I think it is disgusting.

Q#8: Name one thing you’ve always wished you could learn to do, but could never find the right opportunity.
I would like to know how to read my cat’s mind.
Daisy and the printer

Q#9: Name the first place in the whole world you would go, if you had no cares about time or expenses.
I would return to Ireland.

Q#10: (If you enjoy the theater) What is your favorite play, musical or show? Which would you like to see that you haven’t?
I love musicals. It is hard to pick a favorite. “Oklahoma,” “South Pacific,” most of the old Rogers and Hammerstein musicals. I like Cole Porter’s “Anything Goes.” I enjoy “Wicked” and “Les Miserable.” “The Christmas Carol” is a seasonal favorite. Too many to choose from.

Oklahoma!_(London_Stage_Revival)_

Leave a Reply

