Vacation Or What?

Back to school time.  Mike leaves for UNL tomorrow.  It’s going to be hard.

We were in Chicago last week and visited the baby and her parents.  Being a grandma is very interesting!  We managed to go downtown one day.  We visited the Art Institute because Joe, our art major, hadn’t been there since he was in 6th grade.  It held a totally different perspective for him this time.  It is pretty awesome to stand in the presence of great art that we have seen in books, magazines and movies through the years.  To look at an original Van Gogh or Manet or Rembrandt and think, “This is the real thing!” is an incredible feeling.  There is so much to see at the Art Institute that we barely saw half of it in an entire day.  Granted, we did leave for lunch and walked through Milleneum Park, but we spent hours at the art museum.  It was different for me this time, too, because the boys are older and we didn’t have to scurry through.  We didn’t go the armor section this time either.  That was always the boys’ favorite when they were younger because it has coats of armor, swords, lances, axes, and other weapons of medieval warfare.  Somehow the guys didn’t want to go see it this time!

Art-Van Gogh

Art Institute Impressionist gallery

Our baby girl is growing so fast.  I miss her.  It will be awhile before we visit again.  We spent almost a week there.  Joe and Mike stayed with Dave and Carlota and we stayed at the Ramada.  It was much less crowded that way.  Joe and Mike had a blast with the baby and Joe made her laugh a lot just by making faces at her.

We stopped in Amana on our way home and did a little sightseeing and ate a great lunch.  If you have never stopped there, I would recommend it.  It’s kind of a neat area.  You don’t see many (if any!) Amish, but it’s still cool. 

Amana near a winery Amana lace shoppe Amana August 09

In my last entry I mentioned muskrats and seeing their habitats from the helicopter.  I didn’t know what they were called.  Linda R (“LD”) educated me.  (She works in the Ansley schools, ya’ know.  Smart lady!)  She said “Muskrats have burrows. Even though they enter underwater, their burrows are somewhat like groundhogs dig underground. Is that the 64 thousand dollar question?. Hope your week is super. Thanks again for the blog work!!!!   LD”

Unfortunately, it is not the $64,000 question.  I did buy a lottery ticket today with our office pool so I may throw a few bucks LD’s way when I win the jackpot! 

Deb and Frank had a busy week!  Their son, Logan, got married Saturday.  The engagement picture was in the Chief.  She is a beautiful girl.  She and Logan will be living out near Deb and Frank. Logan will take over the farm when Frank gets too old.  He may have to wait awhile!

Our friend and former classmate, Vikki, had a shaky start to July.  Sometime around our reunion, she ended up in the hospital and almost died.  We are glad she rallied and is back to being her ornery self.  She told me the other day she lost her breath and I told her that’s OK because I lost my marbles, so we can search together.  I should have asked her, “Where did you leave it last!?”  Anyway, Vikki still has her sense of humor despite being frail.  Keep her in your prayers, please.

I had the pleasure of communicating with Betty A lately.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have her address for the reunion and we couldn’t find her so she missed the reunion announcements.  I was excited to learn that Betty is a fellow writer!  I hope we can get together sometime and share our writing.  She recently submitted a book that is being looked at by a publisher!  I’m excited for her.  To even have completed a book is a major accomplishment!  I have never done that, although I have started a book a couple times.  I tend to write short stories and magazine articles.  I guess I have a short attention span!  Anyway, congratulations to Betty for getting this far!  We hope her book is accepted and we see it in print someday.  (These things seem to take forever sometimes!)

Kathy and Ken P didn’t come to the reunion, but Kathy is emailing me.  We discuss being grandmas.  I think I want to start a Grandma Support Group.  I appreciate the encouragement I have received from all you grandmas out there that tell me it gets better.  I haven’t learned all the rules yet, so it is helpful to hear from your guys and learn some of the stumbling blocks you faced. 

Face Book has been a great tool for remaining in contact.  I had hoped to stop in Port Byron on the way to Chicago and see Craig, but there is massive road construction on I-80 and 88 so it took us awhile to get around that.  Also, we were in BAD construction (traffic at a standstill) around Adair Iowa, so we were running late anyway.  Turns out Craig is in Omaha today, so we may get together yet!  He is here for a John Deere meeting. 

Besides Logan and Rebecca’s engagement announcement, the Chief featured a large spread on the National Guard.  Deb Mc got to ride in a Chinook.  There are lots of cool pictures in the paper, if you get a chance to see it.  I don’t always know a lot of people in the Chief, but I subscribe anyway because, once in awhile, there will be an issue like that and I get lots of good information.  It’s nice to be able to read about someone you know that isn’t in the obits!  Let’s try to stay out of that section for many years, you guys!

Lynne commented on Face Book that the World Herald had a story about the changing face of Face Book.  They said it used to be for the “hip” generation, but now there are so many of us on it from our generation that it is becoming the “hip replacement” generation.  I dispute that!  For one thing, we are the HIP generation, so the “hip generation” and the “hip replacement generation” are one in the same.  Those young kids who started out on Face Book just think they’re cooler than we are, but we know better.

It was so great seeing all of you at the reunion.  I hope we can stay in contact for many years to come.  We’ve all grown up and become people we may not have been in high school, but you guys were there during the strange and wonderful and confusing teenaged years, so you are special to me.  God bless you all.

 


 

Leave a Reply

