More Cars! And a Book…

Susan and Dennis Easter Sunday 2009 Mike and Joe Easter 2009

HAPPY EASTER!

Here is the current list of cars we drove.  Check it over and see if any changes or additions are needed. Is your car here?  Also, we are going to add what you drive now, too.  So let me know, if you haven’t already.

Kevin – Green Volkswagen bug; Nova, 4-door, early 60’s

Linda D – ’59 Chevy (copper colored)

Rick H – ’61 2-door Chevy

Cathy G – ’68 Firebird (cool car!)

John F – ’68, 442 Oldsmobile, 62 Chevy Impala 2Dr HT (later purchased by Dan J) A few other cars that John drove were, a black ‘61 Plymouth police car, ‘56 Chevy 2 door sedan, Green 55 Chev 2drHT and a dark purple/maroon ‘58 Chevy Belair 4 door. (Dale Hill Class of 64 had a twin to this car).  ‘68 Olds 442 he had at graduation. 

Terry B – ’64 Chevy wagon

Neil P – ’56 Olds, light green, and a bike

Jan S – Camaro, late 60’s ??

Jerry C had a White 58 Impala (In 1958 all Impala’s were 2 door HTs) that he later traded for a Black and White 56 Chevy Belair 2Dr HT. 

Mary Lou – ’60 Chevy, white, 3-speed on column

John U – ’59 Olds, red w/gray primer fender

Greg S – ’64 Chevy, blue

Mary T – ’65 Chevy, light blue, 3-speed on column

Mary W – Studebaker (not sure of the year), red or maroon

Becky A – ’67 Chrysler, blue

Brad G – ’59 Chevy?

Jerry S – ’55 Green Chevy 2 door HT.

Deb P – White Covair 4dr but only one backdoor worked.  Floorboards rusted out and holey.  No defroster. It sounded like a lawn mower and had a top speed of just slightly above a fast walk.

Mike HDidn’t have a car in school. I now drive a 2007 Jeep Liberty Mike Goeden – Black ‘60 Chevy 2 door (I started out with a gray 64 Corvair until I blew a rod trying to drag race a Mustang one night.  My second car was the 59 Black Chevy two-door.  My Dad never let me use more than a 6 cylinder driven car, fearing I would kill myself in it, and he was probably right).

Nick D -White/off red 1964 4 door Pontiac Tempest

Dave K – 2 tone Green ’58 4-door Pontiac

Jim H – Grey and later brown ‘55 Cadillac

Dan J –  ‘61 Chevy Belair, ‘62 Impala 2dr HT 

I loved going out and smoking cigars on country roads with Jim H. in the Cadillac and my favorite was the old pea green 40/41 Ford especially when Hob would let me drive

Dan L – White ‘65 2 door red interior Ford sedan         

Frank G – ’62 Mint Green Comet – Nicknamed by friends as “Vomit the Comet” – w/built-in beer cooler

Mark D  – White Comet with a red interior

Doug F – White ‘55 Ford 2 door coupe; Red Covair

Susan G – White Rambler 3 speed on the column station wagon (Now Red 2007 Saturn Vue)

Shelly S – White ‘58 Oldsmobile 4 door

Tom C – White 4 door Rambler sedan

Scott F– ‘53 two tone green Mercury coupe

Jan  – Black ‘59 Ford  (now 2007 Lincoln Navigator)

Bill P’66 Pontiac Tempest 2/dr/ Coupe

Darwin H – ’64 Chevy Impala Super Sport, black

Craig L– ’64 Chevy Impala, Beige, 4 door HT

 

The Car Conversation has also elicited comments about cars with “character.”  Many feel that kids today are missing out because they don’t have old junkers like we did.  Will they remember their cars fondly like we do?  Here are a few emails from classmates:

 

Hi Susan, I decided I could get in on your discussion of cars.  I even think you helped name my car on one of our sillier nights.  “Claude” was a 58 Chevy Bel Air two toned greenish turquoise.  “He” had a belt holding the driver’s door closed and a sheet of plastic over the passenger’s window.  I shared the car with my Dad and for some unknown reason he blamed me for all the damage that had been done to it — go figure.  My car today is a 2003 Buick LeSabre and Mike drives an ’89 Chevy pick-up.  We keep talking about a new car and truck, but times being like they are we are a little nervous since we have always been GM people!  Even if we get a new truck, Mike won’t give up his faithful fishing truck, though.  He’s proven it’s indestructible.  Fun things you keep coming up with to bring back memories.  Hugs, Trudie
Trudie also commented later:Mike and I often comment when we go by high schools today and see all the new cars, trucks, and SUVs parked in the parking lot that we almost feel sorry for the kids.  Look at all the really good memories they’ll miss out on.  Who can laugh and feel nostalgic about a shiny new model?
Dan J said: “I loved going out and smoking cigars on country roads with Jim H.  in the Cadilac and my favorite was the old pea green 40/41 Ford especially when Hob would let me drive it.”  Also —
All the cars that I commented on I had many laughs in!  I cannot think of the other cars that John F had at the moment.  Spent many hours /nights in these cars and drank uncountable bottles of Schlitz.  That was before class of 70 converted us to Budweiser. Wouldn’t it be great if we had photos of those cars with the owners? 

Susan, Jimmy Don was correct on my car, 64 Pontiac Tempest, but I only had it as a senior, it was my mom’s before that.  Red corvair was Ferg’s as in Doug.  By the way he and I had the race of the century on the airport road quarter mile.  He beat me, but I don’t think either one of went over the speed limit.  Nick
 
 I did go over  the speed limit by at least 1 mph in spanking Nicky Boy. The Vair was hot was it not? It had a 2-speed on the dash Doug (Ferg) 
Deb Mc had a white Covair. This is how she describes it: 
 Susan – white with red lettering (Custer County Chief) on the side – it sounded like a lawn mower and had a top speed of just slightly above a fast walk. It also only had one door that opened and that was one of the back ones – its other redeamable quality was that the floorboard was rusted out so the mud splashed up on your legs. For some silly reason I really liked that car. I think my dad let me have it because everyone else in the office refused to drive it. Deb

Mike G says: I started out with a gray 64 corvair until I blew a rod trying to drag race a Mustang one night.  My second car was the 59 Black Chevy two door.  My Dad never let me use more than a 6 cylinder driven car, fearing I would kill myself in it, (and he was probably right). Mike G

Linda May H expanded on the music we listened to.  As we were cruisin’ we were listening to KOMA which was about the only station with “rock” music.  Here is an email from Linda with music links:

Music did define our generation didn’t it, it’s kind of like Lulu’s “To sir with love”- it took us from crayons to perfume! I was never able to be in band, and only had choir for one semester, but I always loved going to the dances at the armory, and  went to Sargent to Oscar’s a few times.
The oldies radio station here in NP switched over to all sports and the “classic” rock stations just don’t quite cut it, so I’ve amassed quite a collection of oldies music on disc. check out some of the web sites that rate the music, for example:
As for me I’m a very eclectic listener. Although Oldies seems to be my main theme, I also  listen to new age – Yanni & Mannheim Steamroller are the ones I have  a little world- some of the S American  artists are really good, a little country, a little jazz. a little classical., what they term easy listening- but much of that includes oldies.
Its funny, but if I start playing the really good oldies at work that the “kids”  turn their radio off and before long they are singing along with my music! If I want to drive them crazy I switch over to Yanni.
I didn’t drive around much but when I did it was a 50s (54 or 5) Chevy.  now my work car is a 93 Pontiac, my husband drives a Dodge pickup and we have a Chrystler 300 for on the road.

Linda also sent me a webpage about Kem Luther’s current book. Kem graduated in 1965 and lived west of the country club. The big barn from the old Luther place was moved recently to the east side of town.  It will serve as a visitors center, if I remember right, for the Byways. ?? Those of you in BBow know better than I do.  Anyway, I remember commenting on the barn a few months ago when its move through town made the national news.  Back to Kem, though…He has written a book called “The Next Generation Gap.”  It sounds very interesting!  Here is the link to his site.  http://nextgenerationgap.com/ 

Kem describes his book as “The Next Generation Gap is a personal, historical, and sociological reflection on what it meant to come of age in the United States during the rebellious 1960s. The events of that period led the American media to coin the phrase “generation gap” to describe the expanding gulf between the values of young people and the values of those in positions of power. The more I explored the historical reach of the topic, the clearer it became to me that we weren’t the first Americans to experience a generation gap. Since 1776 five American generations have gone through the convulsions of a generational revolution.”

“Once I had the larger picture in my head, it became obvious to me, as I think it will become obvious to readers of The Next Generation Gap, that we stand at the edge a new transition, a momentous sixth generation gap.  At the end of the book I predict that another generation revolution will occur in the 2010s, bringing with it the kinds of civil unrest that transformed America in the 1960s.”

Check it out!

Leave a Reply

