Milestones!

Guess what I did today!  I totally dressed myself!  Wow!  I feel like a toddler, learning to take care of myself again after surgery.  Without the help of Dennis or my mother-in-law, I was able to put on all of my clothes today.  And like a 2-year-old, it was a struggle at times and my shirt was crooked and lopsided, but I had my arm in each sleeve and the shirt was right side out and front side where it should be.  I just took a little longer and straightened my clothes out until they held some semblance of order. 

I have a little more use of my left arm, but the doctor doesn’t want me to overdo it.  My PT yesterday went well and Dan, my therapist, added some more movement to my arm.  We are starting to move my arm back so I can start to reach behind.  Dan measured the angles that I can move my arm at the shoulder.  He said I’m doing real well.  He warned me that I could plateau, though, so to keep challenging myself. I continue to be impressed with him.  He teaches me a lot as we go through the exercises.  I thought I had good PTs before, but they just basically told me what to do and helped me do it.  They never explained why or what it was doing for me.  I still don’t have much pain with PT.  I heard so many horror stories about how painful PT would be, but that has not been my experience.  I guess I lucked out.

The Burke jazz band dance was at the Marriott Sunday.  It’s a neat fundraiser they have.  This is the second year.  The band directors invite the junior high jazz bands to play, too.  (That way you have a captive audience of even more parents!)  Of course, the public is invited to come, but most who come are band parents.  This year the band director also included a couple elementary schools, so we saw some 5-6th graders perform, too–more proud moms, dads, and grandparents to pay the $7 admission!  The band booster parents help set it up and we sell cookies and punch.  This year we also had a silent auction.  Some former band parents own a dance studio so they give lessons at various times during the dance.  Most people don’t dance; we just sit and watch the kids play, but there were probably 10-12 people who did get out on the small dance floor and dance.  One of the numbers the high school kids played toward the end was a samba, so the dance teachers led a conga line.  It was fun to watch!  The “dance” was from 3:00-5:00, so not a typical prime dance time!  The Marriott likes our group to come do that, though, because it is an “off” time for them, too, and some of their guests wander down to watch, too. I ended up with a gift certificate for flowers from the silent auction.
 
Dennis’ mom will spend one more week with us. She has been a great help.  She mentioned yesterday how she had never seen Mike (or any of the boys) play in concerts, etc. until now.  She’s been here a month and she’s seen Mike in the pit for the high school musical (Once Upon A Mattress), last weekend at the jazz band competition in Bellevue, this past Tuesday at Burke for the spring concert and the dance Sunday.  I told her she made up for lost time!!
 
I spent most of Saturday morning working on the reunion pictures for DVD and I thought I was all set when Mike told me we didn’t have the right software to burn it to a DVD.  So, he figured out if we pasted each picture to Paint and created a separate document, we might be able to burn it.  It took us 4-5 steps to do that.  First, we had to find the slide on the Power Point that I just finished. Then we hit Print Screen, Alt/Tab, then we pasted it on “Paint” and Saved as a file on My Pictures.  We did that with 211 pictures only to discover that when we saved it a big white line or stripe appeared across the top of some the pictures!  Out of 211 pictures, only 85 looked right!  All the rest had the white stripe and the bottom cropped off!  So, now we are trying to figure out what to do.  I may need to redo all the pictures.  I have a plea for help out to some of our classmates who know computers better than I do.  Hopefully, they will come up with a good solution for me!
 
Needless to say, it’s not too late to send pictures!  Also, I am still working on the booklet, so send your questionnaires! 
 
I am planning to meet Bruce W and Bill F on Thursday.  Bruce is in BBow now and will stop in Lincoln on his way home to Oklahoma.  He and Bill will get together and come up to Omaha to see this poor crippled old lady!  I wanted to have the DVD done by then so I could give it to them.  Bruce won’t make it to the reunion, so I thought it would be nice to have a copy for him.  Bill is helping me burn copies of the DVD, so I wanted to have a DVD for him to start on.  Oh, well.  The best laid plans of mice and men…
The best laid schemes of Mice and Men oft go awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!
Robert Burns, To a Mouse (Poem, November, 1785)
Scottish national poet (1759 – 1796)
 
Son Mike turned 18 Friday.  Hard to believe!  He even registered for the draft online!  We didn’t do a lot to celebrate his birthday.  He preferred to go out with his friends.  We took him to Old Chicago on Saturday night, but other than that, it was a fairly low-key birthday.  Mike has been offered a full-ride at UNL next year because he is a National Merit Scholarship finalist.  Lincoln is offering four years full tuition, plus housing allowance and a couple hundred dollars a semester for books.  Mike has decided he will likely go to UNL instead of Chicago.  He has received several scholarship offers, but Lincoln’s is the best.  He wants to major in History and Secondary Education, so UNL is fine.  I had hoped he’d look into international studies and consider a career in diplomacy or something, but he wants to teach.  He has to follow his passion, not his mother’s aspirations for him.  He had some excellent teachers at Burke and throughout his school years, both here in Omaha and in Chicago, so I think he was inspired by them. 

Every year on Mike’s birthday, I send a “Thank You” to the nurse who helped deliver him.  (She and I have known each other for over 30 years.) Jenna stayed with me from 3:00 pm until 5:00 am the day Mike was born.  She was with us for the majority of my 15 hour labor!  She didn’t want to go home until he was born.  (Her shift was over at 11:00 pm but she stayed throught the night) I always tell her that Mike is so smart because he didn’t lose a single brain cell during labor and delivery because of her good care of us!

 

Leave a Reply

