One-armed Blogging and No Irish Clogging

 Recovery is coming along well. I have my good days and bad days, but mostly good.  I feel like the planets were in alignment for me!  I had an excellent surgeon, a friend for anesthesiologist, a great hospital including a nurse’s aide named Seraphim (an angel), and now a wonderful physical therapist.  My mother-in-law has been here for nearly a month, helping me out, cooking, cleaning, doing laundry and helping me dress.  She will leave next weekend and I will have to fend for myself!  And FINALLY, I have had the support and prayers of many of you!  I appreciate all the tips you have given me.  I have found that your help has been invaluable.

Prior to my surgery, I wondered how I was going to be able to cope.  How could I do things one-handed?  I thought a lot about how my roles were going to change and I didn’t like that.  I didn’t want to be dependent on others for things I typically do myself.  I remembered my knee surgery and how helpless I was and I didn’t want to go through that again. I dreaded the thought of surgery and wished I could just not do it.  But, I had no choice.  It helped when I heard from those of you who had gone through the same surgery.  I saw that you made it  even though it was a long process.

It helped me so much to hear the good and the bad from others.  Everyone who had rotator cuff told me that it hurts like hell but you get through it.  Everyone told me to “do the PT!”  I received all kinds of tips on how to adjust my lifestyle. (Although I have found my own way of doing things.)  Physical therapy has been fine.  Not overly painful like I expected.  Dan, my therapist, is great.  He even has a device he invented and patented that I use at home for passive movement.  He is teaching me a lot about muscles and motion.  I think he is the best therapist I’ve ever had.  (His device can be seen on this website: http://www.ueranger.com
 
A lot of my concerns and worries prior to surgery have been unfounded or haven’t been as big an issue as I thought they would be.   It remind me somewhat of when I give shots to the kids in the office.  Some of them get so worked up about it beforehand that they are out of control by the time I go into the room.  I tell them, “Worrying about the shot is always worse than actually getting it.”  (Of course, getting a shot is nothing compared to surgery and recovery!  Wish surgery was that easy!!)  My recovery is much like what I hear the kids say after the shot, “That wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.”  Of course, it’s not fun, and I’m not anxious to ever do it again, but I had to have it done and it’s over and now I am slowly working toward recovery. 
 
So, thank you to all!
 
How was your St. Patrick’s Day?  I didn’t do much.  We had a concert to go to at Burke, so our evening was nice but very non-Irish.  No green beer.  I missed out on the Irish soda bread that St. Leo’s parish sells each year.  They sold out by the time I  got there. Joe, however, had a great time!  Even though he gave up “junk food” and alcohol for Lent, he still had a good time.  (That’s Joe for you!  He tends to have fun no matter what!)  He and his friend, Ben, dyed their hair and Joe dressed up like a leprechaun.
 DSC01958 Joe 058
He and Ben went to the Brazenhead and met their friend, Katie.  Joe said there were all kinds of characters there including a guy dressed up like St. Patrick himself!  He wore a bishop’s robe and miter (hat) and carried a long staff. Wish Joe had gotten his picture!
 
Mike’s birthday is tomorrow.  He will turn 18.  Hard to believe my “baby” is that old.  We have a birthday every 1-2 weeks now.  The “Bristol Birthday Season” is in full swing.
 
Thanks to you who sent in your questionnaires lately.  Better late than never!  Please send pictures and questionnaires as soon as possible.  Time is running out!  Also, thank you to Susan Anderson Bader for her recent donation to the class fund.

Leave a Reply

