Countdown

It’s countdown to surgery time!  I go under the knife on Tuesday.  I am not looking forward to it, but I want to get it over with.  I appreciate all the good advice you have given me.  Thanks for your support.

Dennis’ mom arrived today.  She will stay with us for a couple weeks and help out around the house.  She loves to clean, so I am glad to have her!  She is a great help.  We used to clash more because our personalities are so different, but I wised up and realized it could be a win-win situation if I just let her be.  As I have gotten older, I have gotten somewhat wiser, I guess.  Not so hung up about some things like thinking my mother-in-law was critizing me when really it was just her way.

We had a parish council meeting Tuesday and I received many well-wishes then, too.  When I told them my surgery is the day before Ash Wednesday, Father said, “Looks like your Lent is set!”  I guess that means I don’t have to give up anything extra since I am having surgery.

Thursday I had a band booster meeting, so I have had meetings about every day this week. (We had a meeting at work on Wednesday.)  Our band director just became a grandfather and had been out in Oregon to see his first baby grandson.  We had a surprise “grandpa shower” for him Thursday.  It was great fun.  We decorated the Burke cafeteria where we usually meet every month.  We brought cake and punch and of course, presents.  He received several books, photo albums, and picture frames, as well as some very creative gifts.  A couple of moms made blankets out of fabric with musical notes on them.  I gave him a “Grandpa’s Diaper Changing Kit” with rubber gloves, a mask, ointment, etc.  I also found some baby bath toys that were shaped like musical instruments.  The best was from our band booster president, though.  She made a little band uniform for the baby! The band director was so funny.  He kept saying, “I never heard of a grandparent shower before!”  I finally said, “That’s because we made it up!” 

Jim H has been sending me emails about various things including “classmate talents.”  He wants me to share this with you!

Susan,  I was thinking of the wonderful hidden talents of our classmates in high school and I remembered some that might interest you. Nick Dean could ride a unicycle for a block or more, Marc Dickinson could pull a wheelie on a bicycle for a block or more, and Doug Ferguson was unbelievable as far as the amount of time he could spin a basketball on his left forefinger.What a class president! By the way, Opal Ferguson’s most embarrasing moment was when Mr. Hausmann played a joke on her in typing and gave her a report card with a B, yes a B, and not an A for the 6 week period and she got really despondent.  Hob

If any of you have special memories of Jim, be sure to share them with us!

I also heard that Kevin received some very special anonymous Valentines this year.  It’s so nice we can share our love like that.  I’m sure he enjoyed them very much and would like to thank all the secret admirers for sending them.

I am continuing to receive questionnaires now and then.  I received two just today!  It is great hearing from you all.  Jan S also sent a donation with her questionnaire.  Thank you, Jan!  I also have received questionnaires from Terry B, John U, and Jerry S lately.  Thanks, guys! 

Some of you have been helping me figure out how to send the booklet.  I thought it might be nice to have the booklet available by email.  The file is ‘way to big, so I have received tips on converting it to a pdf file or even saving it to a CD.  With the electronic age, we may not even end up a hard copy booklet.  We’ll see.  Of course, there are still people who would prefer a hard copy, so we may print up a few.  It would save us a lot of money if we used email, though.  I will keep you posted.  We may end up with it being available in many forms!  (No stone carving, papyrus or Guttenberg printing press, though.)

Can you tell I haven’t gotten much sleep lately?  For a week now I haven’t been able to take any pain medicines except Tylenol.  No aspirin, no ibuprofen, nothing.  They even told me I couldn’t use my lidocaine patches on my knee. So, I haven’t been able to sleep very well because whenever I move, I wake myself up.  Having right knee pain and left shoulder pain, it’s hard to roll over either way!  So, forgive my foolishness.  It will only get worse in the coming days!

During recovery I will become a one-handed keyboarder, so it is going to be tedious to blog or email.  I will likely still do it because I am an addict.  I am addicted to writing.  I MUST write something every day.  I suppose it is possible that I will fulfill that need by writing longhand in a journal or sending off some handwritten letters, but I have a feeling I still will do computer work.  That being said, it is likely to be much shorter! Aren’t you glad?!

Keep in touch. Keep those questionnaires, PICTURES, and emails coming!

Leave a Reply

