Small World

You never know who you will run into.  What do they call it?  The Six Degrees of Separation?

“Six degrees of separation(also referred to as the “Human Web”) refers to the idea that, if a person is one step away from each person they know and two steps away from each person who is known by one of the people they know, then everyone is no more than six “steps” away from each person on Earth.”

(Wikipedia’s definition and picture)

On December 11, Dennis and I went to the home of one of the nurses I work with.  She has a huge Nativity collection and I wanted to see it.  She decided to invite us over as well as the doctor we work with and his wife.  Afterwards, the six of us would go out to dinner.

Regina has a over 70 Nativities.  Some are small and some are plaques or pictures, but nonetheless, Nativities.  She puts them all over her house during Christmas.  She usually keeps them up until February.  It is an impressive collection.  Her husband is a minister, currently unemployed, but working construction for a friend.  He has a big workshop in their basement.  Regina said he has made all the wood furniture in their house including a rolltop desk, a china cabinet, several frames and shadow boxes, dresses, light fixtures, you name it!  He does beautiful work. 

We asked him if he would consider fixing our floor under the dishwasher where the water had leaked (or gushed!) out.  (I think I wrote about that fiasco in the last blog.) He came over and took a look at it and said he would.  He would also redo the botched ceiling patch in our dining room and do a little work in the basement.  We agreed to have him come on Wednesday.

Sunday evening, after seeing the Nativities, we all went to Lazlo’s for dinner.  Dennis, Kent (the doctor) and Stuart (Regina’s husband) sat on one side of the table and Regina, Kim and I sat on the other.  (It was like the old boy-girl dances in junior high.  Boys on one side, girls on the other!)  We girls conversed with one another and the guys talked to each other.  At one point, Dennis interrupted and said to me, “Did you know Stuart has lived most of the places you have?”  It was the funniest thing!

I really didn’t know Stuart.  I knew who he was when he stopped by the office to see Regina a couple times.  But, up until that evening, I had never really talked to him or anything.  Come to find out, we were both born in North Platte.  When I was two, my family moved to Bridgeport for a short time.  Stuart graduated from Bridgeport. I moved to Cozad from Bridgeport.  Stuart’s family lived in Gothenburg for awhile.  Then we moved to Broken Bow and Stuart’s family moved there shortly after!  He went to UNL after I went to UNL.  He and Regina met at UNL as did Dennis and I.  They even lived in the same dorm complex. I asked him if he had been following me around all these years!  He is younger than I so we never connected in any of those places because, either we weren’t there at exactly the same time, or he was so much younger (not many 10 year olds hang out with 5 or 6 year olds.)

Stuart mentioned living around Weissert for awhile, and I said I knew people with a place near Weissert.  I was referring to Deb and Frank.  Regina asked me if that was the person who made the angels for us nurses at Christmastime!  I told her, “No, she lives near Merna.”  Stuart said his grandma used to live near Merna.  I said the person who made the angels was Patti D.  When I said her last name, Stuart said, “I know her!  I know Dwight!”  It was surreal.  It seemed everything I mentioned, Stuart was connected in some way.

He came on Wednesday and did a beautiful job on all our damaged areas. Maybe it was the connection, but I think he did better than someone who does it for a living!  He braced the wood underneath so it was sturdy.   He redid the “swirls” in our ceiling drywall.  He did all kinds of little “extras.”  When he left, he thanked me for the work, but I said we were the ones who benefited from his talent and I thanked him.  It was a win-win situation.  When he left, he said, “God provides.” 

It made me realize how connected we are to one another.  It makes it all the more important to respect one another because you never know when someone is going to come into your life that has a connection somewhere.  I used to tell the veteran nurses I worked with at the hospital that you should always try to mold the new nurses and treat them well because you never know if one of them will become your supervisor someday.  If we respect each other, no matter our differences or ways of doing things, we all benefit. 

Keep those questionnaires and pictures coming!  I heard from a couple people last week that I hadn’t heard from in years!  It is great to get those letters, emails and pictures. 

Thank you to Jerry S. for his recent donation to the class funds.  You all have been very generous. 

I look forward to seeing you at the reunion in July.  Keep in touch! 

Leave a Reply

