Here I Am!

I’m back!  (Not that I went anywhere.  I just haven’t had time to sit down and update the blog.) Sorry about that!  Did you miss me?

My goal today is to work on the reunion booklet.  I still need information from you guys.  If you haven’t returned the questionnaire I emailed back in April, please do so.  It’s time to get serious about this thing or it won’t get done!  Also, we still need pictures for the DVD.  We have lots of pictures from a few people, but we need a few more pictures from people we haven’t received anything from yet.

This school year promises to be a busy one for us.  Mike is a Senior so we are doing all the college things.  He is also our last to leave the nest, so I feel like I want to participate in all his activities because this is my “last chance!” (Poor kid!  He will probably get sick of us!) Mike is receiving some merit awards, too, so that adds to our activity list.  He has been named a National Merit Scholarship semi-finalist, so will be taking the SAT to see where he places nationwide.

Homecoming is tonight, so this will be our first chance to see the Burke band perform in their NEW uniforms and their new program.  (Pictures to follow)  The dance is tomorrow night.  This entire weekend looks like a rainy one!  So, wet football game, wet halftime and no outdoor pictures for homecoming. (And, much to Dennis’ chagrin, the lawn will only grow longer and be too wet to mow!)

We are done with school physicals at work at last!  It has been a stressful summer.  So many kids to see, and no time to see them!  I thought summer was suppose to be a time to ease back and relax. Not at our office!  Parents get very testy when we can’t “squeeze” their child in for a last minute sports physical.  Kindergarten and junior high physicals are the worst to schedule because they require more time.  If parents don’t call for their appointments by May, it’s pretty hopeless.  We encourage people to start making the appointments in March, but many don’t call until summer.  Anyway, we are glad that is behind us for another year!  Now, we are gearing up for the flu season. We are all required to work 16 extra hours in order to get all the flu shots given!

Because of all the things at work, we have been doing fun things, too, to balance out the stressful things. We had our “Back to School Lunch” last week.  We brought in sack lunches and exchanged them.  My lunch won this year.  It was voted “Most Creative.”  I made little cheese, ham, pineapple kabobs instead of a sandwich.  I put in a “note from Mom.”  I made “ants on a log” (peanut butter celery sticks with raisins–although I didn’t have raisins so I used chocolate chips).  It was fun.  We also had awards for “Most Nutritious” and “Most Ordinary” lunches. The staff voted on the lunches and I had little plastic trophies to give out.

Next week we will have “Talk Like a Pirate Day.”  I will get out our pirate hats from last year and we will give little telescopes and eye patches to the kids.  Since we seem to like to have lunch, I told everyone to bring “pirate food” on Friday.  Lots of limes!  We’ll see how that turns out.

Did you know there is an International Talk Like a Pirate Day?  It’s September 19.  You can check it on the internet.  Just google it and you’ll find lots of websites including the “official” site.  A few years ago, Dave Berry wrote a column about it. 

The cats are glad Joe is living at home again.  They are getting a lot more attention.  Even our standoffish cat, Pepper, loves having him here.  She follows him around the house and wants to be where he is.

DSC01389   It’s kind of nice having Joe around again.  He has matured so he is helping more than he did last time he lived with us.  He takes Mike to work, buys some of his own groceries, does his own laundry, and cleans up (somewhat) after himself.  He’s a lot of fun to be around.  He, Mike and I like to watch the Cubs games together.  We have a great time.  I always say that if and when Joe gets married, I want the mother-son dance to be “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.”  We both love baseball! 

 

Leave a Reply

