Summertime Fun

Our storms continue to keep us up at night.  We had a doozy last night with lots of lightning and thunder.  No big winds this time, though. 

Dennis and I went to the “Taste of West O” this weekend.  It was pretty nice.  Not as crowded as the “Taste of Omaha” is.  There were plenty of places to sit and only about 30-40 booths instead of the massive numbers at the main “Taste.”  It was much more enjoyable with time to linger and stroll around without getting pushed and shoved by others.  Anyway, we tried some different things.  Dennis had one of the most obscene things there–a pie of key lime pie dipped in chocolate and served on a stick like a popsicle!  Somehow key lime pie and chocolate don’t appeal to me (and I love most things chocolate.)  He thought it was good, though.  I settled for the strawberry crepes and a chocolate dipped strawberry.  I had steak on a stick from Johnny’s Restaurant which was delicious!  They put an herb sauce on it that was outstanding.  It came with roasted garlic mashed potatoes.  We also had to taste the beer from various places like the Upstream, Granite City and another microbrewery whose name slips my mind right now.  This guy (below) was selling fried stuff–deep fried strawberries, deep fried Oreos, deep fried Twinkies…they all sounded gross to me.  They should’ve had a paramedic standing by!

July 13 2008

Legacy Place

Today I was looking out the window and a squirrel was on our deck.  He sat on one of the posts and was real still like a statue.  Just as I took his picture, he turned and looked at me!

Squirrel

We are going to have a full house this weekend.  Dave and Carlota are coming to Omaha for a wedding.  Dave is a groomsman, so I doubt we’ll see much of them.  They will be busy with all the rehearsal stuff, wedding, reception and whatever else.  Our friend, Gene, is also coming.  He is bringing a friend to Omaha who needs to see her daughter.  He will stay with us and his friend will be busy with her daughter.  So, we are trying to figure out sleeping arrangements.  Mike is usually willing to give up his bed and sleep in the basement, so it shouldn’t be a problem. 

Joe was over last night.  His roommate has a girlfriend and she doesn’t like baseball, so Joe came over to watch the All Star game at our house.  I already had it on because I wanted to watch it, too.  We were happy to see so many of our Cubbies there this year!  Unfortunately, the NL didn’t win.  It was such a LONG game, too!  I didn’t make it through the last couple of innings.  I’m too old to stay up past 11:00!  But Mike and Joe were up for the duration, even though it was painful!

The boys and I love baseball.  I really enjoyed the beginning of the broadcast before the game started.  They had all these Hall of Famers on the field, standing near their positions–the old pitchers stood by the mound, the old first basemen stood by 1st base, etc.  It was so cool to see all these old players.  Some of them I remember as a kid, looking through Floyd’s baseball cards.  Floyd was a baseball fan, too, and I think it rubbed off on me.  It was amazing to see guys like Gaylord Perry, Willie Mays and Jackie Robinson.  I didn’t realize some of these guys were still alive!

When we lived in Chicago, we went to a lot of baseball games, major and minor league.  We had a fun minor league team that played not far from where we lived.  They are the farm team for the Marlins.  Anyway, we saw them alot–the Kane County Cougars.  Another minor league team came to Schaumburg, north of us, just before we moved back to Omaha.  We saw a lot of White Sox games because there were always free tickets, they were so bad then.  We liked going to see Frank Thomas, though.  He hit a few homeruns when we were in the ballpark. I was hit in the shin by a foul ball at a Sox game. It really hurt!  I had a huge bruised bump for several weeks from that ball!  We still have the ball, too.  Anyway, every Mother’s Day, we went to a ball game.  Some of my friends thought I was nuts, but that was my favorite thing to do–go to a ball game with my boys.  We had such a good time.  Joe and I especially enjoyed it, and we still do like to watch the games together.

When Dave got married, he and I danced to “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong.  It was a nice song, but it really didn’t have any particular meaning for us.  (Now, it does.  When I hear it now, it reminds me of Dave and Carlota’s wedding.)  Anyway, I told Joe if and when he gets married, I want us to dance to “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” followed by “Centerfield” by John Fogarty.  I get emotional just thinking about it!!

Leave a Reply

