June is Bustin’ Out All Over

June Birthdays and Anniversaries

1 anniversary—Bristol 1974

2 anniversary–Littlejohn 1973

7 anniversary—CJ Anderson 1973

12 anniversary—Sennett 1994

20 Rick Horn

 

Summer is here. Once again we went from cold temperatures to the heat of summer!  Our spring weather is much too short!  I think I can count on one hand the number of days we had temperatures between 50-65 degrees.  One day it’s 48 degrees, then VOOM! It’s 85 and humid.  This weekend it was 95 degrees here, and with all the rain, it was very sticky. 

 

We had a nice anniversary this weekend.  It was rather low-key, but relaxing.  Joe, our middle son, took us out to dinner Sunday night.  We heard from our Chicago boy and, of course, Mike was around. 

 

I woke up June 1st thinking of all the people who were at our wedding that are now gone…my mom died two months after we got married. My youngest brother, Charlie, was killed in a car accident a year later (1975).  Mary, my best friend and maid-of-honor, and her husband were killed in the Mexico City earthquake in 1985.  Her mother, Betty, who later became my best friend, died four years ago at the age of 84.   My brother, Floyd, had a heart attack in 1986 at age 40.  My college friend, Bill, took his life four years ago.  And Dennis’ dad who died a couple years ago of lung cancer.  It was a rather sad way to begin the day. Then I thought of all the people who are still in my life and all who have come into my life since June 1, 1974.  I have been so blessed to have so many wonderful people around me.  I am especially blessed to have three wonderful sons and a great husband who has put up with me for 34 years.

 

I joke that Dennis is such a man of habit, that he won’t leave me because it would disrupt his routine.  It would be ‘way too much trouble to go through a separation.  So, he puts up with me.  (He says the same about me. Although I’m not sure I’m such a creature of habit.)  We are the opposites that attract, I guess.  Just like the poles on magnets, the pull is too strong to can’t break apart.   

 

Being a June bride, I love this month.  I have come up with a silly contest at work for June.  Since I have always been interested in how people met their spouses or significant others, I am creating a “How I Met My Spouse/SO” contest.  I have asked my coworkers how they met, then I am condensing their stories into one-liners.  They will guess who fits each one-liner.  Whoever guesses the most right will get a little prize.  We will eat wedding cake and have party favors when I reveal the correct answers to the contest.  We are also bringing our wedding pictures to compare styles, colors, etc. of each “era.”  It is a fun way to find out more about the people we work with and to build camaraderie. 

 

Since Dennis and I met in college, but didn’t like each other for a long time, I always think it’s fun to find out how people met and why they ended up getting married.  Our case is still a mystery to me!  I suppose that’s why I find other people’s stories interesting. 

 

Dennis and I met at a dorm meeting.  Our dorm complex was going to start a newsletter.  Of course, anything to do with writing, and I’m there!  Dennis was there because he had the keys to the equipment room–where the copy machine was.  When we met, it was instant dislike.  He thought I was too much of a “party girl” and I thought he was the biggest nerd.  He was too serious about everything and he definitely followed the rules.  When you dislike someone, you know everything that is wrong about them–all their faults. 

 

Dennis and I had many mutual friends, though, so we were often in the same group.  After awhile, we began to tolerate each other.  I found out that he could be useful.  He ran the front desk at his dorm and I started working switchboard at my dorm.  When I became supervisor, the equilavent of what he did at his dorm, I discovered Dennis knew things and knew people that would be useful to me in my job.  So, I turned to him for help.  Eventually, we developed a friendship.  When you have a friendship, you realize the person has faults, but also good points.

 

Finally, we started going out alone together instead of with a bunch of friends.  Our first “date” was to the State Fair to see Glen Campbell.  Dennis had two tickets and I was actually his second choice.  He called the dorm while I was working to see if one of the Student Assts would go out with him.  He asked me if I thought Lynn, who had recently broken up with her boyfriend, would go to the concert with him.  Ever the philosopy of “you never know unless you try,” I said, “Why not call her and see?”  (Remember the old switchboards with all the wires and plugs?)  I plugged into Lynn’s phone and rang her.  A few minutes later, the switchboard lit up again.  It was Dennis again.  Lynn had turned him down.  “Do you want to go see Glen Campbell at the fair?” he asked me.  I went and the rest is history.         

 

So, I always tell my single friends not to believe in the Cinderella story or the knight in shining armor.  Do it my way and dislike the guy first, finding out all his faults, then become friends and discover his good qualities, then fall in love.  It has worked for me for over 34 years!

Leave a Reply

