Bruised, battered but breathing

Hi, everyone.  I am late putting the entry on the blog because I was in an accident today.

At 1:20 this afternoon, I was driving down 132nd Street near Dodge Street, just past HyVee, when a Dodge caravan coming from the south turned in front of me.  I swerved to miss him, but he turned and we both headed to the guardrail, unable to stop.  I think I hit the front right fender as we headed for the guardrail.  Our Windstar is totaled.  His Caravan is totaled, probably.  The air bags deployed in my vehicle.  It was bad.  I didn’t know those things would have such a horrible smell!  I thought my car was on fire.  My right upper chest hurt and I couldn’t breath.  I tried to get out of the car, but the door was jammed.  I finally got out and was able to breathe then.  All the witnesses were telling me to stay in the car, but I couldn’t breathe in the car.  The EMTs came but I told them I didn’t think I needed an ambulance.  I was shaking so bad, though, I wasn’t functioning very well.  I had all these people asking me questions and telling me what to do.  It was very confusing.  Three witnesses told me they saw it happen and that I had the green light.  Everyone was very helpful.  The policewoman told me to call the tow track unless I wanted the police to impound my vehicle.  I wanted to call Dennis.  I did that as soon as I could and he left work, arriving at the scene of the accident about 30 minutes later.  The policewoman stayed with us until the tow truck got there around 2:30 (an hour after the accident.)  Then I told Dennis I thought we should go to the ER for some x-rays.  My left shoulder was hurting quite a bit, plus my right hip (which probably hit the seatbelt buckle) and my chest.  We were at the ER from 3:30 until 7:30.  They were very busy at Methodist!  All the x-rays came back OK.  They gave me a sling to wear and a Rx for muscle relaxant.  While waiting there, my pains changed and some got better, but new ones showed up.  I guess that’s the way it’s going to be the next few days!  I have a “strangulation” injury across my neck from the seatbelt riding high.  I think that is why I have a sore throat.  The injury looks like someone took a thin wire and tightened it across my neck.  The ER doctor even described it as a strangulation injury.  I have always hated those seatbelts and I remember telling Dennis that I thought I could be decapitated if we were ever in a real serious accident.  Anyway, now we have to get a different car, so I plan to be absolutely sure that the seatbelt isn’t too high. 

Leave a Reply

