Arrangements Committee

I have been communicating with the Arrangements Committee about the basic plan for our reunion next year.  Based on the e-mails I have received, it looks like we will follow the same format as in the past with a barbecue Friday night and a banquet on Saturday.  We will let you know more as details unfold.  Please send me any ideas you may have.

It has been a lonely weekend.  Dennis has been in Valentine visiting his mom and good friend, Gene.  He left Thursday afternoon and is due back today.  By chance, his classmates got together Friday night to plan their reunion.  (Dennis was in the Class of ’68 in Valentine.)  Dennis has never gone to a class reunion, so it was kind of a surprise that he happened upon this.  He enjoyed visiting with former classmates, most of which he hadn’t seen in over 35 years. 

Dennis and I are opposite when it comes to reunions.  He says, “Why should I go to a reunion?  I don’t know those people anymore.”  I, on the other hand, like to go back and see old friends.  Even though we are different (hopefully!) than the 16-18 year olds we once were, I like to catch up on people.  I feel you all were important to me at a time in my life when things were new and exciting as well as turbulent and CONFUSING!  We share that human experience of adolescence!  We helped each other get through those times (although sometimes we may not have helped as much as we could have.)  Dennis said he enjoyed seeing his classmates and prefers smaller groups like that than one big reunion.  I, on the other hand, say, “The more, the merrier!”

We celebrated Valentine’s Day on Wednesday since he was leaving the next day.  I work long hours on Thursdays so I knew we wouldn’t have much time to celebrate anyway.  We went to Kobe’s, a Japanese restaurant where the guys throw knives and spatulas around while they cook your food in front of you.  It was fun to watch. 

Mike was gone quite a bit this weekend, so I came home to an empty house Friday and Saturday.  He went to the academic decathlon (as a spectator) at Creighton University.  He and his friends cheered the Burke team on.  It must have helped because Burke came in first!  They will be going to California for the Nationals.  Burke beat out Creighton Prep.  Burke also won last year.  Who says public school kids aren’t as smart as private school kids?!

Keep those pictures for the DVD coming!  We want past and present pictures, family pictures, grandkids, whatever you would like to share.  E-mail or mail them to me, Janice, Cheryl or Bill F.   I’m no longer putting all the pictures we receive on the blog because we want a few to be ones you haven’t seen yet.

 

Leave a Reply

