Reunions

This weekend I sent out a letter to those classmates whose e-mail addresses I don’t have.  I hope to increase our communication by getting more addresses.  As I was doing this, I started thinking about our class and the various individuals in it.  Our class was so interesting, I think.  So many different people with different talents and interests, yet a fairly cohesive group.  We could be naughty to one another, but we also stood up for one another.  It reminds me of growing up with my little brother, Fred.  It was OK for me to pick on him, but if anyone else did, I just might give that person a punch in the nose.

My hope for this coming reunion is that we will recognize the unique beauty of our class, that we won’t indulge in petty gossip or belittle others, but that we will enjoy each others’ company and rejoice in each others’ triumphs.  All of us have had our sorrows and our successes.  We have suffered losses and have experienced achievements.  We all have that in common—the human condition.  None of us is better than the other, just different.  We have had our tough times and made it through.  We have had our blessings as well.  (Hopefully, we have acknowledged those blessings and haven’t taken them for granted.)  I will always remember the story Mrs. Schwengle told us about the world leader who looked out on the crowd and spotted a garbage man.  He paraphrased the quote from John Bradford and said, “But for the grace of God, go I,” meaning he could just as well have been the garbage man as the prime minister.  We would do well to remember that.  We would also do well not to be jealous of one another. If someone seemingly is better off than you are, remember that that person doesn’t have a perfect life either.  We don’t know all the sorrows or hardships another has had.  My point is, I hope we enjoy each other without letting our biases get in the way.  We can joke about being bald, overweight, and forgetful easier now than we could at our 10th or 20th reunion. Aging is the great equalizer!  This may be the easiest reunion (and most fun!) to attend because the superficial shallow things have become less important.  We’re all in the same boat now!  Let’s just have a good time (and hope the boat isn’t sinking!)

I received a silly e-mail today that had a few “gems” you might enjoy.

–  Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.
  I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.
–  Don’t take life too seriously; No one gets out alive.
–  I’m not a complete idiot; Some parts are just missing.
–  Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?
–  He who dies with the most toys is nonetheless DEAD.
> > Appreciate every single thing you have, especially your friends! Life is too short and friends are too few!

Leave a Reply

